Enjoying the Simple Pleasures of Life, While Living in a Complicated World

Kitchen Works~A Surprisingly Fun & Functional Pot Rack

There’s something that draws you into the kitchen, whether at home or when visiting friends or family.  Throughout the years, my cozy kitchen has seen wonderful gatherings with friends and family for graduations, anniversaries, barbeques and parties. After nearly 20 years, I realized the kitchen needed updating, along with work areas for baking, food preparation and more storage.

After picking out appliances, cabinets and new tiles, I’m now playing with new ideas in the old kitchen, to see if they’ll serve me well in our new kitchen. The main focus in this renovation is about form, function and defined spaces for everyday kitchen routines. However, one item I really want in my new kitchen is ~ a kitchen pot rack.

Lately, pot racks have become a mild obsession…I’ve found many inspirational photographs and ideas online. What really has intrigued me is making my own pot rack from ready-made items or materials, such as iron gates and copper pipes. One interesting pot rack trend is having a pot rack over the kitchen sink!

This charming, over-the-sink pot rack in the kitchen of author Susan Branch inspired me!

Photographs are used with permission of Susan Branch and www.susanbranch.com. Thank you Susan!

After printing out several  pictures I found online, I showed them to hubby and… voila! The next thing I knew, there was a pot rack over the sink! I thought it was such a great project, I’ve included a DYI list of materials, along with pictures if you’re looking for a fun and functional pot rack in your kitchen.

At last, my pots and pans are now easily within reach! My mother’s cast iron pan is hanging next to my favorite Le Creuset skillets, and my french crepe pan.

I no longer have to search for lids to go with my cookware! I discovered you can slide the lids down the handles of the pan, and hang them together…this made my day!

DYI~ Kitchen-Over-the-Sink Pot Rack

1-inch heavy-duty electrical conduit pipe cut to measurement

2 galvanized pipe straps 3/4″ IPS

4 screws to attach pipe straps to top of cabinets

hooks to hang pots (I recycled mine from another pot rack)

This is a very easy, an economical pot rack with a chrome finish that complements stainless steel appliances. I love how all my cookware is right at my fingertips, and everything is more organized. Another benefit… my kitchen has more room for organizing baking pans and casserole dishes. This pot rack maybe be a ‘keeper’ for the new kitchen!

5 responses

  1. That’s a great idea, having all your pots and pans handy like that!

    January 8, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    • I was very surprised how nice and easily accessible pots, pans, lids and strainers are! Plus, it looks great and cost very little to put together. Now, the only question is: Where do I keep all of my Le Creuset to make it easily accessible?!?!? 🙂

      January 8, 2012 at 4:28 pm

  2. Love this look, especially pic 4…

    Jo x

    March 13, 2012 at 6:12 pm

  3. I wonder if you could make this even easier by using a tension rod such as you might use for a shower. I’ve been wanting a pot rack, too, and this is just brilliant.

    January 25, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    • Alice, a tension rod wouldn’t be strong enough to hold up pots and pans. Electrical conduit pipe is readily available from home improvement or hardware stores. They can even cut it to size! Please let me know how your pot rack search goes! I know what it’s like….xo Annie

      January 25, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

