Enjoying the Simple Pleasures of Life, While Living in a Complicated World

Favorite Books~A Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady, by Edith Holden

~My Favorite Books~

Every time I read, “A Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady”, by  Edith Holden~ I see a bygone world through her eyes as I page through her exquisitely beautiful, watercolor illustrations. I purchased this book in 1983 and it remains a treasured book in my library. Her illustration on page 87 of ‘Ragged Robin’ inspired me to track down this rare flower and today, it grows in my gardens! A few years ago, I was able to harvest seeds from this ethereal, flowering plant and send some to my nephew’s wife… whose name is Robin!

Pictures by Mariann Hayes

This book is such a wonderful feast for the eyes and creative spirit! Her detailed illustrations  accompanied  by her observations of flora and fauna, as well as, her favorite poems and quotes, gives a glimpse into her life and English countryside where she lived. This lovely compendium covers the year of 1906 while she lived in the town of Olton in Warwickshire, England. Truly an inspirational book for any gardener, nature lover or someone who loves watercolor painting!

Leave a Reply

